Marijuana Legalization is Not a Free-for-all, Good Times, Smoke-fest Bonanza

marijuana

Ermahgerd, Colorado legalized marijuana! Babies will be mother-less, people will walk around like skunky zombies and 3-year-olds will be getting high!

Not so much, though.

I’m not going to get into the merits or demerits of marijuana legalization, but what I want to show is that even though marijuana is now legal in Colorado, it’s NOT A FREE-FOR-ALL.

Here, read this Washington Post article.

As you can see, the marijuana industry will be extremely regulated, and it’s going to be hard for “ganjapreneurs” (love that term, btw) to get into the business of selling. Interested sellers may have to pay $5,000 just to apply to be in the business, and other licensing could cost between $2,750 and $14,000. Will this drive up the price of pot? Is that a good thing?

Like the article says, Colorado wants to expose- then regulate and control- a substance that has been lurking in the dark for decades. This, my friends, is admirable. Right now, it’s not controlled- by the types of people who we want controlling it- it’s not regulated, and there’s no oversight. The people who control marijuana right now are scary. And I don’t mean your friendly, dread-headed hippy friend who sells you a nug once in a while.

Another good thing that Colorado is doing, is containing the marijuana good-times to their own state. This means that out-of-staters cannot just come on in and start selling their Montana or BC buds. Even the dread-heads who work behind the counter, selling pipes and heady nuglets, have to be Colorado residents.

The marijuana industry in Colorado will be so heavily controlled, state officials are requiring video surveillance of ALL plants, from the time they are a baby seed, as they develop, are picked, packaged, and distributed. That’s intense.

Although I think all of the rules are good, at first, I hope in the future there will be room for de-regulation, and loosening the noose.

Does anyone else worry that a new underground market may develop for “de-regulated” pot? I’m not sure if this is a valid concern, but I would love to hear someone else’s thoughts on this.

But first, just a disclaimer: I do not smoke pot, and don’t care if you do. Also, I do not believe that every one who smokes weed has dreads. And, I’m done.

[Originally published on Wollstonecrafty]

2 responses to “Marijuana Legalization is Not a Free-for-all, Good Times, Smoke-fest Bonanza

  1. I’m not educated on this sort of thing, but it seems to me like it would be kind of like bootleg whiskey or the similar consequence of any other heavily regulated industry. All they’d really have to do is simply maintain the same underground system that was in place before by not coming into the open with it. I would be surprised if there isn’t a de-regulated underground market.

    I’d like to end my comment with a direct quote from your post: “[J]ust a disclaimer: I do not smoke pot, and don’t care if you do. Also, I do not believe that every one who smokes weed has dreads. And, I’m done.”

Leave a Reply

